The modern-day 78-card tarot deck has evolved considerably since its first documented appearance in 14th century Europe. However, even with a progression of changes, the authenticity of the tarot has remained, garnering massive devotion in all areas of the globe. Though often considered a tool for divination, it is gently settling into a reputation as a reliable medium for gaining insight and fostering personal growth.

Previously called as ‘tarocchi’ and ‘tarock,’ tarot had its beginnings as a popular card game, Triumphs. However, from the 18th century onwards it came to be employed as a tool for divination. The occult societies, like the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn, made it a popular tool for divination.

Tarot readings are made from a deck of cards. The tarot deck consists of 78 cards, of which the 22 are the major arcana, and the remaining are the minor arcana.

A tarot deck is divided into the major and minor arcana (“arcana” referring to the arcane, or unseen elements), with the 22 major arcana cards depicting aspects of higher consciousness. The 56 minor arcana cards characterize the themes of ordinary everyday life. Also within the tarot deck are court cards that can signify either people or personality traits depending on the context of a reading.

The Major Arcana

Since they represent the common influences experienced in the journey of life, the 22 cards in the major arcana have the honor of being regarded as the core of the tarot deck. Their appearance in a reading denotes the impetus of a situation, the heart from which all else flourishes.

The major arcana cards are highly symbolic with each number holding a greater meaning. Click on the name of the tarot card to jump to its meaning and interpretation.

The Minor Arcana

The minor arcana, on the other hand, are split into four suites consisting of 14 cards each. The 56 cards of the minor arcana are divided into the Wands, Cups, Swords and Pentacles. Each suit contains distinct attributes and the cards within them denote aspects that are literally or figuratively influencing a current situation. Also referred to as pip cards, the minor arcana provide the details that fill in a tarot reading.

These four suites represent the four elements, with the Wand representing the fire, Cups the water, Swords the air and the Coins or the Pentacles the earth. Each of these elements work on the various faculties like Wands on creativity, Cups on the material possessions, Swords on love and other deeper emotions and the Pentacles on the reasoning power.

Tarot cards are arranged in spreads that can be used for question readings or open readings. Question readings offer insight and highlight possible outcomes for circumstances attached to a specific question. Open readings offer an overview of the details making up a situation. In either case, tarot readings work to reveal perspectives that provide a deeper understanding and awareness. They allow people to see the entirety of a situation and/or make better, more informed decisions. The tarot is not, however, a decision-making device that can be used to avoid the responsibility of having to make difficult choices.

The tarot helps provide clarity by using images and patterns to elicit information hidden deep within the subconscious. During readings, it is important to ask questions that are not only open-ended but framed from a positive standpoint. An appropriate query is neither too detailed nor too vague. Releasing all expectation and being open to the forthcoming knowledge (rather than holding out for a specific answer) allows the tarot to shed light on crucial, unseen elements.

How a Tarot Reading is Done

Typically, for tarot card reading, the tarot readers reverse half the cards drawn that holds a meaning contrary to the original position, For example, the lovers mean union, love, harmony, attraction, etc. But, an inverse card is a symbol of failure or can be a sign of a fragmented relationship. So, it is essential for a tarot reader to remain abreast of all the meanings held by the tarot cards before making a reading.

The cards are drawn from the deck at the request of the tarot seeker and then, the readings are made. Typically, the cards are arranged in a spread. It is the spread that defines what the cards represent and its greater meaning in relation to the situation faced by the client.

Unlike the other magical acts, tarots cannot make changes of the future. It is based on the current path taken by life. If the path in progress is successful, it is a way of informing you to continue to pursue this journey to reach the ultimate objective. But, if the cards provide a negative message, it demands you to make a transition to the current style of living and employ new techniques to make a success of life.

Where to Get a Tarot Reading

Today the tarot readers offer their services online or through telephonic conversations. This gives a wider reach to the powers of tarot, irrespective of your location. But, with the number of fraudsters being on the rise, always make a point to check on the genuineness of the tarot reader before seeking his advice on the future steps to be taken by you. Check on the goodwill and the experience enjoyed by these tarot readers to evaluate their knowledge in performing the act. A deeper probe into the websites of the tarot readers can inform the needy of the type of tarot reader he is.

To chat with a psychic and get a live tarot reading click here.

Depending on your needs, you can make a selection, conduct the modifications according to the strengths and weaknesses of the current position and then let the nature takes its own course.

Leave a Reply