Horoscopes Explained

Last Updated on

Have you ever had your horoscope read? What about reading your daily horoscope in the newspaper or checking your horoscope on your birthday? The reading of horoscopes is a popular practice in the US and elsewhere. Everyone knows their astrological sign and reads the horoscope, some regularly, others periodically to find out what is suggested for the given day, month, or year.

The horoscopes you read in the paper are probably done just for fun and are not intended to be anything other than entertainment. There are, however, those who read horoscopes who are really serious about it. They use birth charts that are based on your absolute date and time of birth and determine aspects of your future and what you should currently be doing in your life.

The Zodiac Signs

Your horoscope is basically built upon your astrological or Zodiac sign. The twelve Zodiac signs are as follows: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Some horoscopes are based upon just the astrological sign, while others are more specific and are based upon your exact date and time of birth. There are love horoscopes, money horoscopes and just general horoscopes.

The true horoscope is done by noting the positions of the sun, the moon, the stars and the planets at a given point in time, such as your birth time. The term “horoscope” is Greek and means “to look at the hours”. A chart is created for each person and is used to divine the future of that person. Those who create and read horoscopes are called astrologers. There are Western Horoscopes and Chinese Horoscopes, based on the Western and Chinese Zodiacs, respectively. The person’s horoscope is based on the Sun Sign of the individual or the position of the sun at the time of their birth and the star sign, or the position of certain stars at the time of their birth.

Creating Western Horoscopes

In Western horoscopes, the astrologer determines the “native”, which is the time and place of a person’s birth. This is considered to be the center of the celestial sphere. Around the sphere is an arbitrary radius that the astrologer puts the position of the moon, sun and stars at the given time of the person’s birth.

The horoscope contains four important angles. The ascendant angle is the point at which the horizon and the ecliptic meet. It is considered the most important angle. The opposite angle is the descendent angle and is marked on the left-hand side of the chart. There is a point called the mid-heaven and a point called the imum coeli, both of which are important in reading a classical Western horoscope.

The Zodiac contains the signs and represents 16 degrees of the total sphere of the person’s chart. The Zodiac begins with Aries. The signs of the Zodiac have Greek and Roman origins and are of ancient origin as well. After twelve signs, the Zodiac ends with Pisces. This has no correlation with the typical Western year although you can determine the sign of the Zodiac a person falls in by using the solar calendar.

Working with Astrologers and Horoscope Readers

A horoscope reader knows that there are twelve houses in the Zodiac that are calculated by the astrologers. The first house begins at the ascendant and the rest are numbered from that point in a counterclockwise position. Each house consists of a 30 degree segment of the chart. The sun, the moon and the stars pass through the different houses over time and are fixed on the chart of a Western horoscope.

A good astrologer will do many calculations based upon your date and time of birth. After making the celestial determinations, the astrologer will be able to tell you your future. This can be an arduous process but it provides you with a much more accurate horoscope than you’d get from the newspaper.


Leave a Reply

error: Alert: Content is protected !!